What I’d Teach My Children…

God isn’t a problem. He cannot be solved.

Yes, He wants to be sought after and known, understood and loved. “When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, LORD, will I seek” (Psalm 27:8). “Ye are my witnesses, saith the LORD, and my servant whom I have chosen; that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I am he: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me” (Isaiah 43:10). “And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart” (Jeremiah 29:13). “Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment” (Matthew 22:37-38).

Yet, in our pursuit of Him, in our efforts to get to know Him better, it’s futile to think that everything He chooses, does, and says will always seem right and make sense to us. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts” (Isaiah 55:8-9). “He hath made every thing beautiful in his time: also he hath set the world [eternity] in their heart, so that no man can find out the work that God maketh from the beginning to the end” (Ecclesiastes 3:11).

There’s no way to get Him all figured out and summed up. “Canst thou by searching find out God? canst thou find out the Almighty unto perfection?” (Job 11:7) “Great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised; and his greatness is unsearchable” (Psalm 145:3). “O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!” (Romans 11:33)

Nevertheless, the greatest commandment isn’t to make God all out, to come up with all the formulas to both accurately predict and logically explain and justify His every move, to know all of His how’s and why’s.

No, I haven’t solved God. No one has. But, drawing from my knowledge of and experience with Him, I would, with the utmost conviction, teach my children, “No matter what happens, or doesn’t happen, no matter what doesn’t seem to add up and what you or anyone else might not understand

Love Him.”

________________

Scriptures are taken from the King James Version of The Holy Bible.

Share Your Thoughts

