Paradise Lost by John Milton

classic-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
____________________

Five Gold Stars

Paradise LostParadise Lost by John Milton

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Quite a read for a poet! My first journey with an epic poem in its entirety, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Too many lines of good verses to name–phrases that inspired me for their deft command of language–and a great amount of passages that left me feeling triumphant. One of the simplest lines I liked the most, spoken to the Son: “Two days are therefore pass’d, the third is thine”; and a favorite passage, sung to the Creator: “Who seeks To lessen thee, against his purpose serves To manifest the more thy might: his evil Thou usest, and from thence creat’st more good.”

I was impressed with what creativity the characters’ experiences and emotions were developed. Story-wise, my favorite character is the Son, the unmatched warrior amid all the hosts of heaven who compassionately serves as intercessor for fallen humankind. This classic presents a challenge to me, both as a poet and as a novelist.

Share Your Thoughts

