Jane Austen: A Life by Claire Tomalin

biography

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.

Five Gold Stars

Jane Austen A LifeJane Austen: A Life by Claire Tomalin

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Brava to the biographer–no doubt this was a challenging account to put together, especially in light of so many of Jane Austen’s letters being destroyed. As an Austen fan, I could have read on for a few more chapters. What was it like for her to have to wait so long to see her novels published (let alone the ones that weren’t published until after she died)? Like author J.E. Keels says, you really have to believe in your work.

________________________

I found a Signet Classics copy of Pride and Prejudice in my middle school’s library when I was thirteen years old. I’ve been hooked on Austen ever since. I’ve a sneaky suspicion that the 1995 BBC television miniseries of P & P with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth will always be my favorite onscreen version of the novel. Here are the editions of Austen’s novels I’ve read. Click on the images.

Pride and Prejudice Sense and Sensibility Emma Persuasion  Mansfield Park (Barnes & Noble Classics Series) Northanger Abbey

Take a look at Becoming Jane, a film on Austen’s writing and romance.

 

One thought on “Jane Austen: A Life by Claire Tomalin

  1. Pingback: Becoming Jane (2007) | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

