The Chosen by Chaim Potok

fiction-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
____________________

Five Gold Stars

The ChosenThe Chosen by Chaim Potok

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

“Reb Saunders is a great man, Reuven. Great men are always difficult to understand.”

A truly moving piece of work. I found myself using this Jewish experience to relate to my Christian one–“But I would ye should understand, brethren, that the things which happened unto me have fallen out rather unto the furtherance of the gospel.” Having ultimately found it to be a HUMAN experience, I agree with The Wall Street Journal’s remarks on the novel: “Its themes are profound and universal…”

Love, family, friendship, pain, brilliance, compassion–quite a read.

One thought on “The Chosen by Chaim Potok

  1. Pingback: Me & Georgette by D.B. Schaefer | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

