Me & Georgette by D.B. Schaefer

regency-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book on Story Cartel in exchange for an honest review.

Four Silver Stars

Me and GeorgetteMe & Georgette by D.B. Schaefer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

“…[Devorah] would be exceptional if her thoughts did not fan that tiny spark into a small flame that hissed, on occasion, Maybe this time.”

I enjoyed this novel. Finishing it in less than twenty-four hours, it’s the quickest I’ve read a novel in quite some time. Much of the comedy in it reminded me of reading The Importance of Being Earnest. The mix of historical English and enduring Jewish culture with time travel was an interesting one.

“But I am not really a gentleman,” Jonathan said. “I am just a Jew.” I wasn’t 100% sure if this comment was supposed to give me a little prick in my heart, but it did. Oh–and there just happened to be a boy named Reuven in the book: a personal bonus to me, as my interest in Jewish culture was heightened after reading The Chosen, even as there are different cultures within the culture, of course. Schaefer also gave much detail to the clothing and furnishings of the Regency period.

Admittedly, about a third of the way in, I wondered how the plot would sustain itself for an additional two thirds, and at some points during reading, I thought the story could have been told just as well in fewer words. However, I’m inclined to trust an author with his/her own storytelling, and it was worth reading all the way through. I was particularly touched by a comforting scene at Ten Oaks, and the climax of the story was satisfying indeed. I was thinking, “Wait, really, Schaefer, that’s how you’re going to…?”

And she did!

 

One thought on “Me & Georgette by D.B. Schaefer

  1. Pingback: Favorite Reads 2014 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

