Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary

fiction-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
____________________

Five Gold Stars

Ramona the PestRamona the Pest by Beverly Cleary

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

My favorite book as a small child! I just “got” Ramona so well, with her plights and joys, and even back then, I could tell something was different about Cleary’s books, compared to the more modern children’s books I read. (Well, “modern” for the 80s and 90s.) I loved the old-fashioned feel of Ramona the Pest, and who could forget good ol’ Chevrolet and the “dawnzer” that gives a lee light? I read the book at least twice, but three or four times might be more accurate. Long live the Ramona series!

____________________

These are the editions of all the other Ramona books I’ve read, borrowed from my elementary school’s library, and I enjoyed every one of them. I heard tell years after I’d read all the books that a new one had been added to the series, Ramona’s World, published in 1999. I’m sure I’ll have to get my hands on that one as well, whenever I procure the series for my own library.

Beezus and Ramona Ramona the Brave Ramona and Her Father

Ramona and her Mother (Ramona Quimby) Ramona Quimby Age 8 (Ramona #6) Ramona Forever

2 thoughts on “Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary

  1. Pingback: Book Picking: How Do YOU Choose What to Read? | Prismatic Prospects

  2. Pingback: Rereads and Reruns: Yea or Nay? | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

