The Butterflies Above My Bed by Mya Mia Happy and S.D. Michael

fiction-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book on Story Cartel in exchange for an honest review.
_________________

Four Silver Stars

The Butterflies Above My BedThe Butterflies Above My Bed by Mya Mia Happy Michael

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

“Mya is a beagle and they love hunting bunnies and foxes.”
I love hunting foxes too? Wow, I have no idea what a fox looks like.

Much like S.D. Michael, the author of the memoir The Beauty of My Shadow, considers “parallels” in her life to be more than coincidences, so do I. An important item on my agenda for the day “just happened” to get knocked off the schedule right after Michael let me know about this second memoir she co-authored, and I suddenly had time to read it. I’m glad I did.

Admittedly, The Butterflies Above My Bed is a departure from any of my normal reading material (though even what’s “normal” for me is changing), but reading this memoir pleasantly reminded me of a 1993 movie I watched and enjoyed several times as a child, Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey. With cleverness and humor, the account in Butterflies is told from the point of view of Mya, a beagle who has a little something to learn about the true plight of the “small orange object” she sees flying around outside one day and decides to chase after.

This book is a nice counterpart to Michael’s memoir, and I believe children would enjoy it as well. May the monarch butterfly benefit from this account!

______________________

Be sure to check out S.D. Michael’s website for An Aid to Help Foundation, established to provide encouragement and resources to educators, students, parents, and families on ways to learn or teach others to make responsible choices in life.

Share Your Thoughts

