Child of Mine by David and Beverly Lewis

fiction-books-6 nadine keels

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received an advance reading copy of this book from the publisher through LibraryThing Early Reviewers for an honest review.
_______________________

Four Silver Stars

Child of MineChild of Mine by David and Beverly Lewis

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

I’ll admit, upon running across this book’s lovely cover for the first time, I expected a good enough story, seeing the authors’ names on it, but I didn’t expect my heart to get involved. “Another Amish tale,” I thought, as while the closest I’ve gotten to actually experiencing a Lewis Amish tale was watching Saving Sarah Cain, a 2007 film I enjoyed based on a novel by Beverly Lewis, I remember back when it seemed that the Christian Fiction section at my favorite bookstore was fast becoming the “Amish and Post-Apocalyptic Christian Fiction” section with less and less room for anything else. While I have nothing big against those book themes, the takeover at that bookstore and others had a fad-like scent, in my opinion, and I tend to steer clear of what would seem too much like hopping on a bandwagon, in case a fad will be just that, without any staying power.

However, Child of Mine is more of a contemporary romance with Amish elements, and even suspense elements, stirred in, and my heart couldn’t help getting involved with these characters after all. I enjoyed the gradual unfolding of the unknowns about Kelly, Jack, and Laura: imperfect people feeling their way through a journey with imperfect circumstances to face, having to learn how to trust God, and other people, the more. After all, “Faith is a light that’s best seen in the dark.”

On one hand, Jack’s heart seemed to be “breaking” frequently, at this moment, then again at another, and during the final third or fourth of the novel, he settled on so many different conclusions that I was reluctant to keep on believing him. On another hand, there was a bit of “throw in some new information after the fact in order to support the fact” storytelling where I would’ve liked foreshadowing better.

Yet, in all, this was a satisfying story that took me on a good amount of emotional turns without losing its course, and it painted a compelling picture of how, at the end of the day, love wins out. Hats off to David and Beverly Lewis for this collaboration!

Oh–and don’t be surprised when I do read a little more Amish fiction. I guess it’s about that time.

4 thoughts on “Child of Mine by David and Beverly Lewis

  1. Beautiful review! I began reading Beverly Lewis books from the time she began writing. Over the years I’ve missed many, but this one sounds like it has taken a new turn in the “Amish fiction” genre. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Clara’s Wish by Beth Shriver | Prismatic Prospects

  3. Pingback: An Amish Christmas Gift by Amy Clipston, Ruth Reid, and Kelly Irvin | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

