The Color of Water: A Black Man’s Tribute to His White Mother by James McBride

memoir-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.

Four Silver Stars

The Color of WaterThe Color of Water: A Black Man’s Tribute to His White Mother by James McBride

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

With thousands of reviews already written for this book, I’m not sure what’s left to be said on it, but I do wonder: would Hudis Shilsky, Rev. Andrew D. McBride, and Hunter L. Jordan, Sr. have foreseen their stories reaching as far and wide as they have by this point in history, through a narrative written in their memory?

Out of all the plights in this memoir, I confess that Hudis Shilsky’s cut me the deepest, but, with or without the “kaddish” tradition, what’s the most Mrs. Shilsky would have imagined about any of her grandchildren’s futures?

Well, enough with my vague questions, but I think anyone who has had the “Can anything good ever come out of this?” question in regards to unfavorable life circumstances could benefit from reading The Color of Water.

As for the racial identity piece, I’ve said before that “Your ‘blood relatives’ are not the only people who’ve got your blood.” Oh, that more of humanity would realize that we’re living on the same breath and blood, no matter who we are. I agree with Publishers Weekly, as quoted on the back cover of the book: “This moving and unforgettable memoir needs to be read by people of all colors and faiths.”

_________________

Note to my blog readers: this memoir contains a minimal amount of profanity.

 

Share Your Thoughts

