How’re You Readin’?

How You Readin'Back in college, one of my professors shared that she enjoyed spending time walking and reading. In my head, I took it like, “Oh, she enjoys walking, and she enjoys reading,” until I saw her outside after classes one day, hoofing it down the street at a pace that must have been doing wonders for her heart rate, holding a book, reading away. I was amazed to realize she’d meant she enjoyed reading while she was walking.

I’d never seen anyone read that way before, and kudos to her for having that level of skill and concentration. I couldn’t imagine myself doing that without tripping over uneven pavement or running into a tree. When I hear other readers talk about how they like to read best, most of them have “curl up” answers, whether they like curling up on the couch, in bed, or in a particular chair with a good book.

I myself have a lifelong preference for the classic curl up. However, being a writer and editor, I already spend a lot of my time sitting down. Knowing that a sedentary lifestyle isn’t the best type for one’s health, I’ve adopted the practice of standing up while reading sometimes. I don’t yet have the skill level to take off at a full speed clip while I’m reading, but I do pace or stay in some kind of moderate motion while I’m on my feet with a book.

At first I thought I’d find it uncomfortable to spend my pleasure reading time that way, but I’ve found that once I’m engrossed in a book, I’m not even thinking about the fact that I’m moving around.

I’m currently reading Les Misérables in stages in between all of the other reading I do. (An unabridged version, naturally, though I realize that if I stay at my current pace, it’ll take me half of forever to finish it. But, since I’ve seen the 2012 film from Universal Pictures–LOVE IT!–I’m not constantly left in suspense about what’s going to happen, at least, and I know the book will go on my list of all-time favorites after I finish.) I’ve found Les Mis not only to be a great one for standing up with but also for another reading practice of mine: reading aloud. It’s a nice discipline, improves my enunciation, gets more of my senses and personal love for drama involved with the reading experience. I’d bet it’s also been a benefit to my public speaking skills.

How about you? What are some of your reading preferences and practices?

 

8 thoughts on “How’re You Readin’?

  1. Hi Nadine. Nice post!

    It’s funny how some of us have strange habits but hey! If it works for them, that’s fine.

    I always read while I’m waiting. I also walk as I read but only at home on my way to the kitchen eg and when I found something irresistible to read you’ll see me sitting on the stairs lol

    Like

    • Thanks, Saada! I used to read while I was waiting all the time, too. Any otherwise unoccupied five minutes or so would find me with a book in my hands, but I’ve fallen out of the habit. I might need to re-adopt the habit, though, since it was a good one! 🙂

      Like

  2. I couldn’t get into Les Mis. I’m currently reading C.S. Lewis’ Mere Christianity each night immediately before I go to sleep. This is proving to be a problematic reading time because I’m having to re-read whole chapters that I missed while ploughing through half asleep.

    I don’t think I’m even coordinated enough to read while walking on a treadmill. We all have different gifts in life!

    Like

    • A reader once told me he read one of my novels while on the treadmill, and I wondered how he managed it. I didn’t ask any questions, though. 😀 Yes, sometimes finding that “sweet spot” time for reading can be a challenge. I don’t read while sleepy as much as I used to, though I still find myself battling not to write that way sometimes.

      Yet, I figure that if “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven,” then there’s a time for reading! That time tends to shift with the seasons for me, and it got a little lost last year, but this year I was determined to find it again, and I have, thankfully.

      I wonder if some of Mere Christianity is wrapped up in the collection of Lewis’s writings in The Joyful Christian, which I’ve been reading gradually for some time…

      Like

  3. Hi Nadine

    im currently reading The Keeper by Suzanne Woods Fisher…its really good. I messaged u earlier…im gonna read your books…wow i didnt realise u were such fantastic author and had so many books published!

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Angela! I hope you enjoy reading what I’ve written, and if you do, you’re more than welcome to let me know. 🙂 Suzanne Woods Fisher–I’ll have to look her up! Always great to find a new (to me) author.

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

