Somewhere to Fight For by Drew Lane

fiction-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book on Story Cartel in exchange for an honest review.

Four Silver Stars

SomewhereSomewhere To Fight For by Drew Lane

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click on the title to find the book description/blurb.)

She loved the way the side roads drifted off the main highway like dusty gold and brown snakes. They held hidden secrets from the past, with voices that whispered their stories. People from the city couldn’t hear the words that floated on the air…

But Kate could.

Here’s a quick, “feel good” read I enjoyed that would especially appeal to older children and young adults. I admired the pluck of the preteen heroine, Kate, who puts her mind to work in an effort to save the small town she calls home. The author, Drew Lane, paints a wonderful picture of Wickliffe’s natural environment while also including some moments of humor from the handful of this story’s characters. Yes, I laughed aloud. The third chapter’s title is my favorite: “God Doesn’t Live Here Anymore.”

The story’s dialogue is heavy on the exclamation points with some double punctuation (“?!”) that I think works better in text messages than in books, but a younger audience mightn’t be bothered by that. I found Mayor Parker to be a little over the top as a character, and I didn’t quite understand why Kate’s best friend would be so extremely angry with her, but the characters work in the story overall.

It’s more of a novella than a novel, word count-wise; again, Somewhere to Fight For is a quick read that packs in a great message of hope and spirit, a book worth taking a look at.
________________________
Note to my blog readers: this book contains a minimal amount of language I wouldn’t condone for use by my children–if, of course, I had children. 🙂

 

Share Your Thoughts

