Facebook Likes and Whatnot: I’ll “Like” It if I Like It

Likes

This introvert has never been a social butterfly, so it comes as no surprise to me that after five years or so on social media, I’ve still not gotten into what I’d call a comfortable rhythm with it. I haven’t tons of advice for other folks about what to do with it either, but there’s one thing I’ve more or less advised myself about, where social media and cyberspace are concerned: “Likes.”

I like to watch football, and, indeed, football is a sport that I’ve watched. I like to wear lipstick, and, indeed, lipstick is a beauty product that I’ve worn. I like to eat fruity cereals, and, indeed, fruity cereals are breakfast foods (or lunch, dinner, snack foods–it’s all relative) that I’ve eaten.

Football, Lipstick, Cereal

When I click the “Like” button under someone’s Facebook status or photo, it’s because I genuinely like it. When I click the “Like” button under someone’s blog post, it’s because 1) I read the post, and 2) I like what I read.

I know that many folks around cyberspace have adopted the “Like for Like” practice (you know,Β “Like” my Facebook page, and I’ll “Like” yours.) I’ve handed out a few such requested “Likes” before because I didn’t want to seem stuck up or selfish, but I soon quit that practice, as it wouldn’t be good for me to go around saying I “Like” a particular author if I’ve not read any of his/her books and have no real intention to, or whatever the case may be. If an author or artist on social media is announcing an accomplishment and I’m happy for said author or artist, I’ll “Like” the announcement. But when someone is making an announcement with the clear desire for others to click to read his article or click to go to her product page to purchase her product, and I know I’m not really going to read the article or buy anything–that is, if I don’t have a genuine interest in what the person is sharing or what he/she wants–I skip “Liking” the post, even if it’s apparently there for a good reason.

I don’t skip “Liking” to be rude or to withhold support. I mean, much of the time, “Likes” are cheap. It takes more than clicking a button to truly support a person or an effort, and I don’t want to make as if “I like this and I support you!” if I don’t really. Besides, when it comes to artists and such, my guess is that having a lot of “Likes” for their products without corresponding sales wouldn’t make the artists feel too great. (Is that one reason why I never set up a FB page to go with my FB profile, to avoid “Likes” that don’t mean much?) Oftentimes, receiving lip service from others ultimately stings worse than being ignored.

Yet, I know that people “Like” things for different reasons, and this is in no way meant to discourage you from “Liking” any of my stuff if there’s something you like about it. πŸ˜€ Just know that if I’ve “Liked” your status, your photo, your bio, your blog post, or whatever it is, I’m not just clicking a button to be polite or to get you to “Like” something of mine. I do like what I “Like”!

 

6 thoughts on “Facebook Likes and Whatnot: I’ll “Like” It if I Like It

    • πŸ˜€ Thanks! And by the way, I came close to banning myself from getting more books, but I got around it by donating or selling some of my less memorable volumes to make more room, so my book acquirement is back on the rise…

      Like

  1. If “likes’ were merely a statement of enjoyment, I would totally agree with you. But they are more than that. Facebook determines what is shown in not just my timeline but other people’s timelines based in part on the number of likes a post has. In their paraphrased words, if a post has a lot of likes, it must be a hot topic so it will show up in more timelines.For me personally, it is my way of saying, I see that you posted this, thank you for sharing it. For bloggers, likes and comments seem to figure into the whole google algorithm.

    Sorry to be so wordy. I did like your post.

    Like

    • Thank you kindly, and I appreciate wordy comments. πŸ™‚ I think “Liking” a post to say “Thank you for sharing” is great!

      I’ve read a number of articles about Facebook’s algorithms, especially since their recent changes and cutbacks on the number of “friends” or “fans” who can see posts that users don’t pay FB to promote. The cutbacks were actually the final reason that made me decide against setting up a FB page; I saw the strain that it put on many page admins whose number of views suddenly saw a drastic drop, and the few of us trying to “Like” and Share posts more frequently from the pages weren’t enough to bring the visibility back up on a sustained basis. (Of course, many of the people the admins started asking to “Like” and Share probably didn’t see the admins’ increased requests anyway, due to the visibility drop.)

      Admittedly, the strain and the scramble for “Likes” took some of the fun out of FB for me, one of the reasons I’ve increased my time on WordPress. Alas, I presume that algorithms must be factoring in more and more everywhere on the Internet, and I do remind myself to “Like” with my mouse more when I see/read something I like, as opposed to just smiling and liking it in my head, as I’m prone to do. πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Your posts make complete sense really. Likes become so arbitrary that they kill the sense of liking something. Like for me, I have these friends with very depressing posts due to family tragedies or break-ups…etc. And people like them.

    Does that mean you “like” that somebody died in their family? Do you “like” the breakup? Often the answer is no, but you “like” to acknowledge that the post was seen, or to make your presence aware. Anyway, the point is there.

    So yeah, I agree 100% with you on that one. There should be more buttons on social media or just comment, instead of letting a click determine your disposition on something.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

