Heidi Grows Up by Charles Tritten

classic-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
____________________

Four Silver Stars

Heidi Grows UpHeidi Grows Up by Charles Tritten

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Yes, I read and enjoy my share of children’s books, so the fact that this book is very much for children is not why it took me out of my reading comfort zone.

Can’t say I’ve ever been the biggest proponent of sequels written by people other than the authors of the preceding books. The sentiment is like, “Dear Sir or Madam, I know you’ve got your own ideas about where you wish the original author’s story would go, as countless readers do. But you’re simply not the author, and this simply isn’t your story to take over, especially not to the extent of a whole additional book.”

Yet, readers of Heidi had been pleading for years to know what happened to Heidi, Peter, Klara, Grandfather, and all the others after the close of the first book (well, originally, the first two books), and author Johanna Spyri had passed on, so what else was one of Spyri’s translators, Charles Tritten, to do? (More or less.) Besides, Heidi had closed with the chapter entitled “Parting to Meet Again,” or as it’s called in the Aladdin Classics copy I read, “Goodbye for the Present!”Heidi It’s only natural that a goodbye-for-the-present should eventually have to be followed by some sort of a hello-again.

Heidi Grows Up is a pleasant “Hello, again!” And while it’s likely that Spyri would’ve written it differently had she decided to continue the story in her own words before she passed, Tritten has done a good job of capturing the spirit of Heidi in his sequel.

I’m glad another Goodreads member recommended this book to me. I may have to go on to read the final book of the series one day, just to round it all out.

One thought on “Heidi Grows Up by Charles Tritten

  1. Pingback: Favorite Reads 2014 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

