Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good by Jan Karon

fiction-books-5 nadine keels

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received an advance reading copy of this book from the publisher through LibraryThing Early Reviewers for an honest review.
_______________________

Five Gold Stars

Somewhere Safe with Somebody GoodSomewhere Safe with Somebody Good by Jan Karon

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

An unprecedented act on my part: I jumped right in, deep into a series, without having yet read any of the series’ earlier books, which I’m aware are meant to be read in sequential order. Additionally, Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good is the first book whatsoever that I’ve read by Jan Karon. Perhaps this act of mine is somewhat of a violation against the International Bookworm’s Unofficial Code or something, but, really, how could I pass up a novel with such a title when it came across my path?

A possible plus here is that my rating for this novel isn’t riding in on the coattails of any previous/established love for this series or its characters, since I came in absolutely new to Father Tim Kavanagh and the people of small-town Mitford.

I can’t tell you at exactly what point I became so engrossed in this novel that I wished I could swallow it whole, but it must have been somewhere during the first fourth of the book. I loved Karon’s deft style and pacing, the chance to catch woven glimpses into her well-written characters’ lives. Their joys, their hardships, and their questions are real; I could’ve hugged good ol’ Coot Hendrick, and I made a delightfully failed attempt at restraining my laughter while encountering J.C. and Mule’s banter while I was reading in public. (Albeit I did keep my chortling as quiet as was possible, in the moment.)

Do I intend to go back and read more of the Mitford Years series? Yes! Though, please pardon me, I still shan’t guarantee the order I may read them in.

At Home in Mitford (Mitford Years, #1)A Light in the Window (Mitford Years, #2)These High, Green Hills (Mitford Years #3)Out to Canaan (Mitford Years, #4)A New Song

A Common Life: The Wedding StoryIn This Mountain (Mitford Series #7)Shepherds Abiding (Mitford Years, #8)Light from Heaven (Mitford Years, #9)

_______________________

Note to my blog readers: there’s just a smidgen of characters’ language in the novel that I wouldn’t use.

4 thoughts on “Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good by Jan Karon

  1. Pingback: Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good by Jan Karon | JimsBox.com

  2. Pingback: Favorite Reads 2014 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

