2 A.M. at The Cat’s Pajamas

Book reviews are subjective. When I rate books, I do so not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. Blogging for Books provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.

2 A.M. at The Cat's Pajamas2 A.M. at The Cat’s Pajamas by Marie-Helene Bertino

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

I’m into jazz, particularly of the classic variety. The jazz theme and the description of “three lost souls search[ing] for love, music and hope on the snow-covered streets of Philadelphia” are what intrigued me about this novel from the first time I saw it. Indeed, at some points, the author’s style in this book is much like music with its mellow, lyrical quality.

I’ve said before that it would be ideal if books could come with content ratings and details, as films do. I watch all kinds of films from Rated G to R, depending on the subjects, and it helps to know ahead of time what manner of content to be prepared for. Profanity doesn’t always equate to vulgarity in all films and books, in my opinion, but the colorful language in this novel became distracting to me long before the love, music, and hope search could really get underway. I was turned off after a little more than a fifth of the novel and decided not to continue–just a content preference for this particular reader.

Still, though, the title alone compels me to go take a classic jazz break…

Share Your Thoughts

