The Desire by Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley

fiction-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. Revell provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.
______________________

Four Silver Stars

The DesireThe Desire by Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

They held hands and prayed, acknowledging how big this thing was…
When they were done, she looked up at Jean and felt something else inside.
Hope.

A sweet novel, The Desire is. I hope that isn’t an inappropriate or insulting way to describe a book written by two men, but it is indeed a sweet story. While the characters, particularly Michele, Allan, and Christina, face some tough and complicated situations–unplanned pregnancy, infertility, marital challenges, meeting impoverished orphans–authors Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley deal with these situations with a certain simplicity and grace that eased me right through the novel.

The story takes its time to unfold in what I’d call a Coffee & Cream fashion: you’re not going to rush through what’s happening in this novel, but you’re going to sit down with these characters over coffee and cream and hear them out about what they’re thinking and feeling. The approach felt a bit redundant at points, as though the story wasn’t going to move on to what would come next until each character got to stop, think, and feel about what came before, if I’m saying that right, but overall, the pace of the novel was relaxing, without plodding.

There were quite a bit of tears, especially from the female characters. I think that too many tears in a story weaken their effect, though I can’t say that, considering the characters’ sensitive circumstances, the crying was out of place.

The Desire has the essence of a New Christian’s Faith and Living Handbook, with scriptures and the characters’ reflections on and growth through them, particularly Michele’s. I’ve come away with my own little boost of faith after reading this novel–nothing fancy, but a reminder that while you trust God when things happen that you don’t like, remember that things you do like can still happen, too.

_______________________

While The Desire can be read as a standalone novel, it’s the third book in The Restoration Series. Here’s my review of The Legacy.

The Dance (The Restoration Series, #1)The Promise (The Restoration Series, #2)The Legacy (The Restoration Series, #4)

2 thoughts on “The Desire by Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley

  1. I appreciated your thoughts, Nadine. I’m trying to finish The Promise in preparation for reviewing this one soon. Your comment at the top about rating books according to how “perfect” they are to you is exactly how I feel. I may even have to borrow that phrase! Anyway, relationship drama is my favorite genre and I’m enjoying this series.

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

