Juliette and the Monday ManDates by Becky Doughty

romance-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

________________________

Juliette and the Monday ManDatesJuliette and the Monday ManDates by Becky Doughty

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

I had my share of giggles while reading Juliette and the Monday ManDates. Juliette is a quirky character, and her G-FOURce meetings with her sisters have familial elements that I, considering myself and my own siblings, fully understand. I mean, a group of four grown women, all saying “Oogy-boogy” to one another to confirm their agreement on a motion? What? I love it!

Along with the protagonist’s quirkiness and the humor of her blind ManDates on Mondays comes Becky Doughty’s knack for dealing with grave issues that real people have to face, when there aren’t quick fixes for heartbreak or disappointments.

As the book has such a catchy and singular title, I was surprised that the title’s theme lasted for maybe a little less than half the novel, the rather early switch away from the theme giving the plot a “wandering” feel in the middle that put a hitch in my interest. Also, Juliette’s thoughts on desired romance seem rather one-dimensional, mostly about what she wants a mate to be and to do on her behalf and not much about what she wants to be and to do on her mate’s behalf. Granted, in light of the particular biblical metaphor centrally used in this story, growing Juliette from her place of need to a place of readiness to give more in a romantic relationship may not be this book’s aim.

The message of forgiveness that shines through is a timely one, and women who are well-acquainted with their own quirks can get a kick out of this novel.

________________

See my review of the next book in the series, Renata and the Fall from Grace.

Renata and the Fall from Grace  Phoebe and the Rock of Ages

Share Your Thoughts

