Goodreads Choice Awards 2014: Opening Round

Hooray! I actually read new book releases this year and could therefore cast votes in the Opening Round of the Goodreads Choice Awards 2014, which Goodreads points out to be “the only major book awards decided by readers.”
All of my votes were write-ins, and, hey, even if they happen not to make it to the next round, they’ll appear on my 2014 Favorite Reads list in December–the list where I’ll be able to include more books than I can nominate for the Goodreads awards.

______________________________

My Goodreads Choice Awards 2014 Nominations
(Click the covers for my reviews)

Fiction

Thief of GloryI would have nominated Thief of Glory by Sigmund Brouwer, a WWII novel, for Best Historical Fiction, but as my nomination for that category was already taken, the Fiction category was the next best fit.

Historical Fiction

The Butterfly and the ViolinYes, The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron, another WWII novel, has one of the most moving scenes I’ve ever read in any novel–ever.

Nonfiction

Just MercyI debated for a moment about whether to vote for Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson in the Nonfiction or the Memoir & Autobiography category, but since this look at the criminal justice system in the U.S. is so much bigger than Stevenson himself, I nominated it for best nonfiction overall.

Young Adult Fiction

Keeping QuietThe Fine Art of Keeping Quiet by Charity Tahmaseb was the first book that came to my mind, as it’s my favorite read of the year so far and one I added to my all-time Favorite Reads list.

Debut Goodreads Author:
Another vote for The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron, a stunner of a debut novel.

____________________

I know some fellow Goodreaders are disappointed that more new books they’ve read this year didn’t make it to the initial list of 15 books in each category, so I encourage everyone to write-in your votes by November 8th to give your book and author picks a boost. You never know how many other readers may write-in the same titles and push those books into the next round!

One thought on “Goodreads Choice Awards 2014: Opening Round

  1. Pingback: Goodreads Choice Awards 2014: Update | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

