Clara’s Wish by Beth Shriver

christmas-books-4

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. The Booketeria provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.

Four Silver Stars

Clara's WishClara’s Wish: An Amish Christmas Romance by Beth Shriver

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve not read much Amish fiction, not being sure if the sudden proliferation of the subgenre was just a fad or if it would prove to truly be a substantive staple in Christian Fiction.

Still, I reasoned that an Amish story might lend itself well to Christmas as a theme, and Clara’s Wish does just that. It’s a warm, simple, nostalgic, uplifting novel dealing with both loving and painful family dynamics, the clash and reconciliation of cultures, the discovery of romance, and the comfort of Christmas.

I sometimes felt as if I was missing something while reading. Certain details were given out of order, some ideas and issues broached but left underdeveloped, and the way the characters kept evading on some topics didn’t enhance or further the plot. I thought there would be more to introduce Clara as a person, given the book’s title, but perhaps the point was in Lizzy and Zack’s mutual love for Clara and not so much for the reader to really get to know her. Also, the dialogue was somewhat difficult to follow at times, either with paragraph breaks that made it unclear who was speaking or with different characters’ words running into each other in the same paragraph (some of which I presume must’ve been a typesetting/formatting issue.)

Nevertheless, I quite enjoyed this novel for its portrayal of faith, hope, and redemption, and I consider it to be a worthy Christmastime read.

 

One thought on “Clara’s Wish by Beth Shriver

  1. Pingback: Christmas Book Picks 2014 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

