How Much Do You Love Me? by Paul Mark Tag

historical-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book, for which I give my honest review, through Goodreads First Reads.

Four Silver Stars

How Much Do You Love MeHow Much Do You Love Me? by Paul Mark Tag

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

As I’m all for finding fiction with main characters of diverse races, the image of the woman on this novel’s lovely cover caught my attention. In How Much Do You Love Me?, author Paul Mark Tag weaves a World War II tale of culture, romance, and mystery, a needful reminder of the wartime internment of many people right in the United States, including loyal U.S. citizens.

As a lifelong resident of the Pacific Northwest, it was quite the experience for me to see the familiar names of local cities–Bellevue, Bainbridge Island, Puyallup, my hometown of Seattle–associated with this unfortunate and rather racially charged aspect of WWII. I’m sure that nowadays, any number of people in my neck of society (and other necks, I presume) take interracial dating and marriage for granted, either forgetting or being unaware that it wasn’t too many years ago that marriage between different races was illegal in much of the U.S.

I found this to be an engaging and enlightening novel. The conclusion of the mystery wasn’t wholly convincing to me, as while there was an explanation for it, it didn’t seem like a strong enough reason for the characters to take such humanly drastic, permanent measures. In essence, I thought, “Ah, I see! But, practically, in their situation, was this really…necessary?” However, the mystery was woven in so well that I still found it interesting.

Here’s a great piece of historical fiction that I definitely recommend.

 

One thought on “How Much Do You Love Me? by Paul Mark Tag

  1. Pingback: Favorite Covers 2015 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

