“A Novel Saved My Life.”

Hope, Inspiration, Genius

A particularly meaningful author interview of mine is no longer available where it once was. So, I’m sharing a part of it here.

______________

Why did you start writing, Nadine?

I often call fiction my “first love.” I’ve been a bookworm all my life, and my love of writing stemmed from my childhood reading adventures with books by authors like Beverly Cleary, Judy Blume, and L.M. Montgomery. Hence, I’ve been writing stories since I was about seven or eight years old. Then, during the few days of a horrific experience I had when I was thirteen, a novel saved my life: John Nielson Had a Daughter, by Ruth Livingston Hill (Ruth Munce.) Recounting that experience would take a whole separate interview, but suffice it to say that my purpose for writing books was first awakened there. I now write to help people: to bring hope, to change minds, to expand imagination, to provide entertainment, and to save lives, all of which other authors’ books have done for me.

Fueled by the purpose awakened in me when Munce’s novel saved my life, I wrote my first novel, Yella’s Prayers, when I was seventeen, with the hope of saving someone else. Interestingly enough, I only recently learned that Munce, who lived to be 103, lived all the way until I began the first work I seriously planned on publishing. Munce passed just days after I started writing Yella’s Prayers, in May of 2001.

________________

It’s important to know why you do what you do…

Share Your Thoughts

