The Patmos Deception by Davis Bunn

suspense-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. Bethany House provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.

Five Gold Stars

The Patmos DeceptionThe Patmos Deception by Davis Bunn

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

The island of Cyprus was full of lies. Even the map failed to tell the truth.

Excellent novel, though I’ll say up front that I’m rating it on a measure of faith: faith that there’ll be a sequel or series to complete this story that makes a riveting ascension, heads toward a landing, and stops with an almost maddening mixture of loose ends.

After reading nine of the novels Davis Bunn authored with Janette Oke as well as two legal thrillers of Bunn’s, The Great Divide and Winner Take All, I knew I was in for remarkable writing with The Patmos Deception, and I was not disappointed. Roman, Greek, and early Church history (as well as samples of cuisine that must be delicious) are weaved into this romantic suspense tale regarding the “alarming disappearance of invaluable Grecian antiquities,” and Bunn shapes his engaging characters’ thoughts, emotions, and motives with a nuanced hand. The issue of one character’s womanizing ways and his resulting emptiness comes close to being driven into the ground, perhaps, but avoids crossing that line.

So, five stars for what I read with the hope that it’ll still be excellent when I keep reading the story, once there’s more story to read.

 

2 thoughts on “The Patmos Deception by Davis Bunn

Share Your Thoughts

