A Windswept Promise by Brandi Boddie

romance-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. The Booketeria provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.
________________________

Four Silver Stars

A Windswept PromiseA Windswept Promise by Brandi Boddie

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

“You have to let a person be who they are.”

As it was with The Preacher’s Wife, the novel that precedes A Windswept Promise by author Brandi Boddie, I also found Promise to be an easy book to get into. There are glimpses of Marissa, from the first book, and the effect she has on this novel’s heroine, Sophie Charlton, the town belle from a (now) well-to-do farming family. Sophie’s got some decisions to make as far as suitors and marriage go, and as it often happens, these decisions won’t be easy ones for her.

I found Dusty Sterling to be the most interesting character, a personable and rather easygoing man dealing with the inner tension of wanting to be faithful where he is while wishing to pursue his dreams elsewhere, wondering if and when he’ll be able to have all that he truly desires. Boddie’s inclusion of the character Joe Emmers and his family makes way for a touch on racial relations in Kansas not ten years after the Civil War.

In light of the relaxed and rather contemplative pacing of most of the novel, the switch into the main climax felt somewhat rushed and not thoroughly believable where all the characters were concerned. I couldn’t put the book down after a certain point, as my aggravation with Sophie’s parents, especially her mother, urged me to keep reading to find relief for my aggravation–not necessarily a bad thing.

Another enjoyable novel in the Brides of Assurance series. If the series continues, I plan on continuing with it.

_______________

My review of The Preacher’s Wife, first in the Brides of Assurance series.

The Preacher's Wife

3 thoughts on “A Windswept Promise by Brandi Boddie

      • that is awesome , and yeah i want to talk about the awesome books i read but nobody around me are readers, so creating my new book blog has allowed me to express the books i love and chat with other readers, it is quite the community ! love it !

        Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

