His Girl Friday (1940)

Film reviews are subjective. I tend to rate films not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.

His Girl Friday

His Girl Friday (1940) from Columbia Pictures
Not Rated. Drama, Comedy, Romance

Five Gold Stars

Description (from the film case): A conniving newspaper editor [Walter, played by Cary Grant] learns his ace reporter/ex-wife [Hildy, played by Rosalind Russell] is retiring to settle down with her stuffy fiancé. Determined to keep her on staff and win back her heart, he [Walter] entices her into covering the hottest story in town.

My thoughts: “Give me just a second, can’t you? Don’t you see this is the biggest thing in my life?” ~Hildy

Ah–dialogue so quick and precise and amusing and layered and so…much! They don’t write ’em like this anymore.

Be advised: this is not the kind of movie you can “watch” while simultaneously scrolling through social media on your phone. Look and listen, or all the swift, little things that make this picture great will pass you by!

The last time I watched it, I even reserved my laughter at some parts so that I wouldn’t miss what came next. (Even if that’s going a little overboard with paying attention, I did it.)

This smart comedy about knowing and accepting who you are and what you’re made for is my favorite Cary Grant film.

______________________

Quite the, um, musical trailer, here. Not to worry–the movie itself isn’t mostly music. 🙂

 

Share Your Thoughts

