Easter Parade (1948)

Film reviews are subjective. I tend to rate films not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.

Walk Remember, Easter

Easter Parade (1948) from Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Not Rated. Drama, Romance, Musical
Academy Award: Best Scoring of a Musical Picture

Five Gold Stars

Description (from the film case): Strolling along 5th Avenue or going on the bum as “A Couple of Swells,” Judy Garland [as Hannah Brown] and Fred Astaire [as Don Hewes] lead a parade of music (17 Irving Berlin tunes and an Academy Award-winning adaptation score arranged by Johnny Green and Roger Edens) and gotta-dance fun in this never-ending delight co-starring Ann Miller and Peter Lawford. Don’t let this colorful Easter Parade pass you by!

My thoughts:

The happiest musical ever made
is Irving Berlin’s
Easter Parade.

So heralds the film’s tagline. I wouldn’t know if it’s the happiest musical ever in history, but I must be the happiest girl in the world whenever I watch it. My first time seeing it was also my first time seeing Astaire in a film from beginning to end, and what absolute genius: an actor, a singer, a dancer, even a drummer. Garland is charming as Hannah, and one of Hannah’s numbers with Don, “When the Midnight Choo-Choo Leaves for Alabam’,” gets me on my feet most every time. Oh, and Ann Miller’s fantasti-tap to “Shakin’ the Blues Away” is something to see.

And not to worry! The movie isn’t so busy having everyone singing and dancing around that it forgets to tell a story, as the storyline about love and show business is an entertaining one with wonderfully played characters.

“Oh, I could write a sonnet
“about your Easter bonnet
“and of the guy I’m taking to the Easter Parade!”

(Nice touch to have Hannah sing the signature song to Don, instead of the other way around.)

________________________

Nope, I can’t resist posting this number. All aboard for Alabam’!

 

2 thoughts on “Easter Parade (1948)

Share Your Thoughts

