A Thing of Beauty by Lisa Samson

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. BookLook Bloggers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.
________________________

A Thing of BeautyA Thing of Beauty by Lisa Samson

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

I was intrigued by the idea of the story of Fiona Hume, a former child star who once dreamed of living the quiet life of an artist, but instead she’s been stuck in some kind of a rut for years with no art to show for it while her money’s been running out. When she becomes landlady to Josia Yeu, Josia brings a picture of happiness into Fiona’s bleak life space.

However, I’ll not be finishing this book on account of the language in it. While I do read books in which swearing may appear in moderation, depending on the subject matter, it’s not something I expect or much appreciate finding in Christian Fiction. I think it’s a misrepresentation, unfitting for the genre. No, I don’t think stories labeled as “Christian” have to be unrealistically squeaky clean reads, as life itself isn’t squeaky clean, but there are some things I find to simply be in poor taste.

Share Your Thoughts

