The Legacy by Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley

fiction-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. Revell provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.
______________________

Four Silver Stars

The LegacyThe Legacy by Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

“The waves were coming in way before we got here, and they’ll keep coming in long after we leave.”

The ocean is used for an illustration of faith in The Legacy, and the constancy exemplified through it corresponds with the way I feel about this novel and what I’ve read of The Restoration Series by Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley.

As the tide is sure to come in and go out at scheduled times, this novel about a young college man, Doug Anderson, didn’t hold any big surprises or twists for me, nothing major I didn’t see coming before it happened, but there was still something enjoyable and even comforting in the cyclical rhythm of love, pain, frustration, shame, and redemption in this “prodigal son” tale. The comics and graphic novels thread added an interesting touch, particularly in the character Christina’s take on them and during a Comic-Con visit in Orlando, a visit that managed to get me laughing a couple times. The tension, resignation, and resolution in various interactions between the characters rang true to life.

Although I’ve only come in on the latter half of the series, the authors sprinkled enough tidbits of background into The Desire and The Legacy for me to be quite sure that the closing novel effectively brings the Anderson family’s story full circle, and I’d recommend it to contemporary Christian fiction fans in need of a straightforward and ultimately uplifting read.

____________________

My review of The Desire.

The Dance (The Restoration Series, #1) The Promise (The Restoration Series, #2) The Desire (The Restoration Series, #3)

Share Your Thoughts

