What’s the Longest Novel (or Other Book) You’ve Read?

Long Novels

With a little help from a widget in my Goodreads profile, I was able to pinpoint the longest novels I’ve read: page count wise, anyway, not word count wise. Word count would be a more accurate measure, but, still!

Oh, the simple things that thrill a bookworm.

The longest novel I’ve read is Shōgun. Admittedly, not my normal kind of read (certainly not a novel for kiddies), but I was on a Samurai kick at the time I read it.

Shōgun____________________

Shōgun
James Clavell

~
1152 pages

____________________

~~~

Ten other novels that topped my Long Book list? Glad you asked. 🙂

Middlemarch____________________

Middlemarch
George Eliot

~
799 pages

Pretense____________________

Pretense
Lori Wick

~
702 pages

Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ____________________

Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ
Lew Wallace

~
639 pages

The Portrait of a Lady____________________

The Portrait of a Lady
Henry James

~
635 pages

Great Expectations____________________

Great Expectations
Charles Dickens

~
627 pages

Return to the City____________________

Return to the City
J.E. Keels

~
568 pages

Mansfield Park (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)____________________

Mansfield Park
Jane Austen

~
512 pages

Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good (Mitford Years, #10)____________________

Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good
Jan Karon

~
511 pages

This Present Darkness (Darkness Set, #1)____________________

This Present Darkness
Frank E. Peretti

~
508 pages

Christy____________________

Christy
Catherine Marshall

~
501 pages

__________________

*So. Would you care to share the longest novel (or longest other book) you’ve ever read?*

2 thoughts on “What’s the Longest Novel (or Other Book) You’ve Read?

  1. A Storm of Swords – 1177 pages. I also recently RE-READ ALL the SONG OF ICE AND FIRE books back to back, so that puts me at 4975 pages. 🙂 Also, Under the Dome – 1074. David Copperfield – 974. I am sure there are more, but those are the “off the top of my head at 1 a.m.” ones!

    Liked by 1 person

    • My brother, too, has read the Song of Ice and Fire books and a lot of other fantasy novels–certainly more than I have. 😀 He says that fantasy books tend to be long, and it’s quite understandable to me, given that fantasy authors create whole other worlds, codes, even creatures, etc. for their readers. Thanks for sharing–off the top of your head at 1 a.m.!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

