Once Upon a Summertime by Melody Carlson

romance-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. Revell provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.

Once Upon a SummertimeOnce Upon a Summertime: A New York City Romance by Melody Carlson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

I believe Once Upon a Summertime is the third novel I’ve read during the past year or so about a young woman relocating to and landing a new job in New York City, and it’s the first book I’ve ever read by Melody Carlson. I almost felt like I myself could’ve been a tourist in The Big Apple as Anna Gordon and Sean O’Neil traversed the streets together.

This read is on the lighter side with one key relationship complication that isn’t so complicated. I wasn’t really pulled in by the characters, the writing tends toward redundancy in a number of places, and the ending is quite abrupt. Still, anyone looking for an easy and clean romance with an overall upbeat feel to it may want to pick this novel up.

 

2 thoughts on “Once Upon a Summertime by Melody Carlson

  1. I happen to like Melody Carlson’s Christmas stories…all contemporary novels linked to parts of the real Christmas Story. She comes out with new Christmas novels each year and I tend to save them until that season to read.

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

