Spring Dawn by Rebekah Lyn

fiction-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a complimentary copy of this book from a publicist for an honest review.

Four Silver Stars

Spring DawnSpring Dawn by Rebekah Lyn

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

It’s not a regular habit of mine to jump into the middle of a book series instead of starting at the beginning, but I jumped right on into author Rebekah Lyn’s Seasons of Faith series with the first book I’ve ever read by her, Spring Dawn. I saw the cover, skimmed the blurb, approached the novel with the expectation of an easy and uplifting romantic read mixed with faith, and I wasn’t disappointed.

The author illustrates Lizzie and Ian’s realistic and stressful relationship situation without dragging it out into something that becomes tedious or depressing to read. Even though there’s a lot going on in the professional and private lives of Lizzie, Ian, Jeffrey, Michelle, and Stephen simultaneously, the story doesn’t feel too “busy.”

There are some scenes I imagine would’ve touched me in a deeper place had I read the preceding books in the series, but overall, the writing is straightforward, so I didn’t feel left behind. I find it awkward or sometimes confusing when a character’s direct thought isn’t italicized or anything, when it’s a lone sentence or two that isn’t clearly distinguished from the narrator’s words. However, since this didn’t happen too many times, I wasn’t jarred out of the story.

Here’s a simple romance and “journey of faith” read I’d recommend to other fans of Christian Fiction.

_______________________

Other books in the Seasons of Faith series

Summer Storms (Seasons of Faith #1) Winter's End (Seasons of Faith, #2) Christmas Vows (Seasons of Faith Book 4)

 

4 thoughts on “Spring Dawn by Rebekah Lyn

Share Your Thoughts

