Silver Linings by Debbie Macomber

romance-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received an advance reading copy of this book from the publisher through LibraryThing Early Reviewers for an honest review.
_______________________

Five Gold Stars

Silver LiningsSilver Linings by Debbie Macomber

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Well, I did it again: this rare-to-me thing of jumping into a new-to-me series with a book a ways down the line from Book One.

But I didn’t feel at all lost in Cedar Cove or at the Rose Harbor Inn that widowed Jo Marie runs. Altogether, I found Silver Linings by author Debbie Macomber to be as charming as its cover, and the three romantic storylines of Jo Marie, Coco, and Katie all held me with equal interest.

Being a native Seattleite, I admittedly hold an extra ounce of appreciation for Macomber’s stories set in the Pacific Northwest. Now, I did mentally shake my head at Coco and Katie’s ten year high school reunion, as it seemed to be a gathering full of adults who hadn’t really gotten over events from their teenage years, no matter how many times they kept telling each other, “It was a long time ago.” The degree of Katie’s desperation in her “love situation” seemed to be heading overboard, and Coco’s situation advanced so quickly that I had little chance to get to know or like her love interest before Coco was hopping headlong into his arms. However, both women’s situations fit their personalities, so I could go with it. Plus, the brief appearance of characters from Macomber’s Starry Night was an added bonus.

Again, quite a charming novel, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

_____________________

Silver Linings is Book Four in the Rose Harbor series, plus there are three short stories along the way.

When First They Met (A Cedar Cove Short Story) The Inn at Rose Harbor (Rose Harbor #1) Lost and Found in Cedar Cove

Rose Harbor in Bloom (Rose Harbor, #2) Love Letters (Rose Harbor, #3) Falling for Her: A Rose Harbor Short Story

3 thoughts on “Silver Linings by Debbie Macomber

    • I’m not sure yet if reading this one let me know just enough about past Rose Harbor stories to intrigue me into reading them, or if it told me enough to spoil those stories for me. 😀 Either way, this series is now on my radar. I still feel pretty “new” to Macomber, but I’ve got more of her books in my library now waiting for me, and I know I’ll be reading at least one more before the year is out–Mrs. Miracle!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Favorite Covers 2015 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

