Mamarazzi by Brooke Williams

romance-books-6

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Five Gold Stars

MamarazziMamarazzi by Brooke Williams

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

What are the chances that Danica Bennett could go from being the notorious “Mamarazzi” with a hidden identity to being Hollywood’s next darling on the other side of the camera? The impossible trip she’s in for engagingly unfolds in Mamarazzi by author Brooke Williams.

This is the second book I’ve read by this author. There are some major and minor story similarities between this one and Williams’s Accept This Dandelion, and a scene or two between Danica and her leading man, Eliot Lane, reminded me of Norman Maine and Esther Blodgett in the 1937 version of the film A Star is Born.

However, the Mamarazzi storyline really comes into its own, and after pleasantly enjoying most of it, the last third or so of the book had me especially hooked with turns I didn’t expect.

Though the story does have comical moments, humor doesn’t have a strong presence in much of the book, so despite its categorization, I wouldn’t call this romance a romantic comedy. Honestly, the romance isn’t what drew me in either, and there are places where the writing could’ve been less repetitive and more nuanced, leaving room for the reader to understand what didn’t have to be said. But it was the unexpected turns that gripped me and the inward aspects of the heroine’s journey that touched me, and as I like to say, a book doesn’t have to be technically perfect (whatever that would be) to wow me.

And Danica’s journey has left me with a definite, and even an emotional, “wow.”

 

2 thoughts on “Mamarazzi by Brooke Williams

Share Your Thoughts

