My Mother’s Wish: An American Christmas Carol by Jerry Camery-Hoggatt

christmas-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
_______________________

Five Gold Stars

My Mother's WishMy Mother’s Wish: An American Christmas Carol by Jerry Camery-Hoggatt

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

A punchy and heartwarming little tale if I ever read one.

Pretty much, Ellee and her mother have always seen anything but eye to eye, and they’re both in need of a new awakening to love for Christmas in My Mother’s Wish: An American Christmas Carol by author Jerry Camery-Hoggatt.

Though I’m likely to grow tired of a sarcastic protagonist who merely comes off as proud or bratty, Ellee has an unapologetic tendency toward wry exaggeration that I took to and could even smile at.

Now, though I was aware that the heroine is in the present, telling her story in past tense, some of the switches in tenses threw me a bit. For instance, Ellee’s experience at the Comeback Café starts off in present tense, with the waitress addressing her in the present, and then the scene switches into past tense, “I said” and “she said.” Could just be Ellee’s conversational style of storytelling, perhaps.

Still, this is a quick, deftly written read with substance and room for a reader’s imagination. Not to mention there’s a character named Nadine, which is always a plus. 😉

Share Your Thoughts

