Falling Like Snowflakes by Denise Hunter

christmas-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. BookLook Bloggers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.
________________________

Five Gold Stars

Falling Like SnowflakesFalling Like Snowflakes by Denise Hunter

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Single mother Eden Martelli is running from danger so grave she can’t even call the police, so does it help or hurt that Christmas tree farm manager Beau Callahan is a former sheriff’s deputy?

When I picked up Falling Like Snowflakes by Denise Hunter, a new-to-me author, I didn’t bring expectations for more than a nice enough holiday romance with a little angst but not necessarily a lot of meat on its bones. That is, I try not to step right in demanding the world from an author I’ve never read before.

However, Snowflakes had me engrossed in a way I didn’t suppose I would be and faster than I would’ve guessed. The author has a down-to-earth style, and the novel’s suspense elements unfold gradually, unpretentiously, so I was compelled to pay close attention and remained intrigued during the process. The characters are believably flawed—particularly Eden and Beau, whose romance I’d place on the steamier side of Christian Fiction—and some touching scenes with Eden’s son Micah had me thinking, “Okay, little guy, why don’t you just go ahead and break my heart?” Made me wish I could jump in the book and hug him.

There were some moments when I wanted to tell the characters, “Okay, you all know full well what this is by now, so just call it what it is, for everyone’s sakes.” But, hey, we human beings don’t always “call it what it is” right away in real life, either. Eden’s and Beau’s romantic reactions to one another become somewhat redundant in places, and the language regarding being trapped versus being free is repetitive toward the end of the novel. Also, an instance of the story’s danger has, perhaps, too convenient of a setup, as it seems the characters on both sides would’ve known better about what choices to make in that situation.

Still, this novel about love, fear, faith, and healing had me all in and has my recommendation for fans of ChristFic romance with suspense woven in.

___________

Here’s my review of the second book in the series, The Goodbye Bride.

The Goodbye Bride

3 thoughts on “Falling Like Snowflakes by Denise Hunter

  1. Pingback: Christmas Book Picks 2015 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

