All the Way to Heaven by Becky Doughty

romance-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
________________________

Five Gold Stars

All the Way to HeavenAll the Way to Heaven by Becky Doughty

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

When it turns out that the man Anica has trusted and fallen for is already married with a family, what better way for her to recover than to take a trip to Tuscany?

As I’ve done with other books by author Becky Doughty, I plunged into All the Way to Heaven blindly–no book blurbs or plot overviews in general, just an open book ready to take me somewhere.

And this novel did indeed take me somewhere: straight to Italy, through vivid, evocative imagery; through nature and cuisine and lush, distinctively Italian manners; and through, well, olives, the fruit that is essentially a vital character in this story.

Anica’s down-to-earth narration of her outward and inward adventure in Lucca (much of it being a romantic adventure) had me gasping, cringing, and laughing by turns. There’s one element of the romance that simmered for a while in a way that made me expect a coming conflict to resolve, surprising me when it, pretty easily, fizzled into nothing. But seeing the romance eventually come into its own was worth holding out for. Or, holding my breath for?

Here’s a trip to a beautiful countryside and a coming of age story that’s rich, alluring, and wise–a call to open one’s eyes.

________________

See my review of the second book in the Fallout series, A Light in the Dark.

A Light in the Dark  A Long Way Home

2 thoughts on “All the Way to Heaven by Becky Doughty

Share Your Thoughts

