The Five Times I Met Myself by James L. Rubart

fiction-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. BookLook Bloggers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.

Four Silver Stars

The Five Times I Met MyselfThe Five Times I Met Myself by James L. Rubart

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Up till now he’d doubted, wondered if this whole thing of talking to himself in dreams wasn’t just his brain sliding off the table of sanity, but when night came, he would lock himself into this rocket ship, follow God’s lead, and ride it into the heavens.

The Five Times I Met Myself by author James L. Rubart: I’ve never read anything quite like it before. Much like a literary mix of Back to the Future and It’s a Wonderful Life, this novel’s hero is Brock Matthews, a man who’s giving advice to his younger self in dreams, all in the hopes of fixing his past mistakes and repairing his present life.

This Seattleite (me) couldn’t help delighting in all of the book’s references to local cities and attractions—Newcastle, Bellevue, Lake Washington, Seattle and the Seattle Seahawks. But more than that, what I appreciate about this novel is its challenge to the way we may put our own limitations on our ideas of God’s capacity.

“Ah, I see. So all things are possible for this God of ours except for the ones you decide are not possible. Have you given him a list to make sure he doesn’t do anything you don’t approve of?”

While I found the story to be intriguing overall, the writing could’ve had more subtlety in some places, and there are “beating around the bush” points in the dialogue where the suspense feels more like stalling. Also, toward the last third or quarter of the book, the story has, perhaps, too many turning points. Consequently, the momentum lessens from scene to scene while the story moves to make its central case.

Still, this novel of life lessons and soul-searching through time is well worth the read.

 

One thought on “The Five Times I Met Myself by James L. Rubart

  1. Pingback: Favorite Covers 2016 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

