A Refuge at Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky

historical-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. Blogging for Books provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.
____________________

A Refuge at Highland HallA Refuge at Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

As I really enjoyed some World War I novels last year, I think it’s the theme of that war that most drew me to read A Refuge at Highland Hall, third in the Edwardian Brides series by author Carrie Turansky.

While it’s abundant in backstories and subplots, the novel centers on Penny Ramsey’s budding romance with Alex Goodwin, a Royal Naval Air Service pilot ready to fight for Britain. The inclusion of the subplot concerning Germans in British internment camps most interested me, as the internment of British citizens of German descent reminded me of the internment of Japanese Americans in the U.S. during the Second World War.

For a little more than half the novel, I thought the story to be slow and difficult to get into, dense with a number of details that I found to be either inconsequential or rather predictable. The initial development of Penny and Alex’s relationship seemed quick and fairly trite, the heroine’s sweetness beginning to feel overdone. However, their romance does pick up some substance later on, Penny’s character does reflect some strong points, and a specific message she gives about courage packs a memorable punch.

Though this novel is written in a way that wouldn’t leave the reader lost, I’m sure it’d be worth it for historical Christian Fiction fans not to do what I did, starting this series with Book Three, but to start from the beginning with The Governess of Highland Hall.

_______________

The Governess of Highland Hall (Edwardian Brides, #1)The Daughter of Highland Hall (Edwardian Brides, #2)

Share Your Thoughts

