True to You by Liwen Y. Ho

romance-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
________________________

Four Silver Stars

True to YouTrue To You by Liwen Y. Ho

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

She didn’t need a degree in math to know the chances were slim to none that her parents would ever accept someone outside of their race.
So the fact that Melanie Koo is falling for a man who isn’t also Chinese is complicating her life.

In True to You, author Liwen Y. Ho brings a mix of sensitivity and humor in a romance headed toward cultural and emotional obstacles. In this easy and nicely paced story, Melanie, Ben, and their cast of supporting characters are interesting and believable–and even when a character or two is unbelievable (my goodness, Mrs. Koo!), it’s a good thing.

From a technical standpoint, I found the reading to be bumpy in places due to the “head hopping,” when the story switches back and forth between the viewpoints, thoughts, and feelings of different characters within the same scene. Generally sticking to one character’s viewpoint during a scene, or intentionally alerting the reader when the viewpoint is about to switch, makes it easier for the reader to adjust when moving from one character’s thoughts to another’s. Some issues with punctuation also slowed the reading down for me but didn’t stop me from enjoying the story, which I thoroughly did.

The depiction of the characters on the front cover put me in anticipation of a New Adult or younger read (nope, I didn’t carefully check the book blurb beforehand.) However, Melanie and Ben are actually more mature in age, and I’d recommend this novella to fans of Christian romance, from teenagers to adults.

_____________

I’ve also read the third book in the Taking Chances series, Drawn to You.

Straight To You Drawn To You (Taking Chances, #3)

Share Your Thoughts

