Her Imaginary Husband by Lia London

romance-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
_______________________

Four Silver Stars

Her Imaginary HusbandHer Imaginary Husband by Lia London

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Nikki Fallon has much to love about her new high school teaching job, except maybe the attention of a playboy football coach. Her lie about already being married may be just the thing to stave the coach off–and unfortunately discourage any advances from the kind and handsome campus cop.

As I do with a good number of the books I read, I jumped into Her Imaginary Husband by author Lia London blurb-less, preferring not to know beforehand what this romantic comedy is about. Not wholly unfamiliar with this author, I fully expected comedy that would actually make me laugh (that is, literally laugh out loud), and I wasn’t disappointed.

Beyond the comedy, the heroine’s role as a teacher makes way for some smart and compassionate points. As Nikki’s values and ideals don’t exempt her from some raw and conflicting emotions, her character is believable, with moments like one when she feels “flattered, cheap, attracted, and repulsed” all at once.

A little more backstory would have eased me into my grasp on Nikki’s character more smoothly, and there’s a key question concerning her motives that I didn’t feel reached a definitive answer. Also, the timing of events in an episode toward the end was somewhat jarring to me. But something quite human, empathetic, and passionate in that episode made me throw my hands up with an inner “Amen!” So…

And, yes, I put the book down safely before I threw my hands up.

I’d recommend this rom-com to anyone looking for an amusing read, clean with a little steam, sweet but not sappy, with, as I mentioned, smartness and compassion to boot.

Share Your Thoughts

