Love Undercover by Jean C. Gordon

romance-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
________________________

Four Silver Stars

Love UndercoverLove Undercover by Jean C. Gordon

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Devon, a private investigator, is secretly out to expose Kendall & Associates for their fraudulent financial practices. But a certain “associate”—beautiful, single mother Tina—is in the mix, and as much of a crook as she may be, Devon finds himself hoping that she’s innocent.

Love Undercover is the second romance I’ve read by author Jean C. Gordon, and I finished the bulk of it over the course of an evening. As I didn’t read the book blurb beforehand, the title was my general hint that the book might include some suspense.

Still, I didn’t go into it looking for that, and I wasn’t hit over the head with it when it did appear. The suspense eases into the story without fanfare or a loud, corny announcement (the literary equivalent of a musical “dun-dun-DUUUN” in a movie.) The simple approach and gradual heightening of that element of tension is fitting for this story. Also, Tina’s and Devon’s unspoken feelings of uncertainty and guilt in their individual lives add an interesting layer to each of their characters.

The pacing toward the beginning of the romance didn’t have me fully convinced; the true feelings behind Devon’s romantic actions weren’t clear to me, and I wasn’t sure what all Tina found attractive about him yet. Also, the characters’ direct thoughts aren’t always italicized, and in some places, the characters’ thoughts and the narrator’s voice seem a bit jumbled together.

Still, any reader who can appreciate a quick, sweet romance with suspense tied in can enjoy this story.

______________

Bachelor Father Mandy and the Mayor

Share Your Thoughts

