One Night in Tehran by Luana Ehrlich

thriller-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Four Silver Stars

One Night in TehranOne Night in Tehran by Luana Ehrlich

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

“I haven’t figured out if my desire to serve the Lord can possibly be compatible with my career as an intelligence officer.”

That thought is near the forefront of CIA officer Titus Ray’s mind in One Night in Tehran, a thriller by author Luana Ehrlich. After running for his life and converting to Christianity in the Middle East, Titus is sent to spend a year of medical leave in Oklahoma. But recuperating from his leg injury turns out to be the least of his worries when he hears an assassin is after him.

Yes, I’d say I’m still rather new to thrillers, and I’ve been getting the benefit of suspenseful and dangerous situations without explicit or gratuitous content that would make the stories too R-rated for my particular reading tastes. This novel is no exception–certainly with suspense, danger, and just a hint of romance–and the ending comes about as close to a cliffhanger as possible without absolutely leaving the reader dangling off the edge. There is an ending, but the storyline here definitely calls for the next book in the series.

While the action picks up in the second half of the novel, I found the first half or so to be pretty low key, full of details, introspection, and explanations about events that happened in the past, before I as the reader came in. That half wasn’t boring to me, though it mostly seemed to be carefully “laying the foundation” for what would come later. Still, I’d rather have a good foundation than a lot of arbitrary chases and shootouts thrown in early merely for action’s sake, so I respected the pacing here.

On another note, specifically because this novel touches on the Israel/Palestine conflict, a very real and complex issue, I personally would’ve liked to hear from an amiable or admirable Muslim character or two somewhere in the story. That could have opened the narrative up a bit on that front, as I in no way believe the intent in this novel is to paint all people of any particular faith with one broad brush.

Now, I can hardly imagine how anyone who enjoys Titus Ray’s story could not go on to read the continuation, which I certainly see myself doing.

________________

Two Days in Caracas (Titus Ray Thriller #2)

 

2 thoughts on “One Night in Tehran by Luana Ehrlich

Share Your Thoughts

