The Hearts We Mend by Kathryn Springer

romance-books-5

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. BookLook Bloggers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.

Four Silver Stars

The Hearts We MendThe Hearts We Mend by Kathryn Springer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

“Jack.” Evie swallowed. Hard. “Do you ever hear God laughing?”

Well, the joke was on me, this time. Not to make light of The Hearts We Mend by author Kathryn Springer, as this novel certainly isn’t a joke. I must say it was the gorgeous cover that drew me to this one: the colors, the warm tone of it all, and the evening lights. It made me think of a wedding reception at night.

I appreciate how this novel deals with issues like drug addiction and trouble with the law without turning it all into something cheesy by just making the involved characters “bad people” and prescribing an easy fix. Even Evie’s spiritual journey has a refreshing difficulty about it. At the story’s opening, she’s at that place where “reciting verses she’d memorized” and “singing bits of a praise chorus” simply isn’t cutting through the knot in her heart. Getting to a new level of trusting God is going to take more life experience. Also, the romance here isn’t rushed.

I did find myself losing interest at different places during the novel, as the storyline, while good, didn’t have a special “oomph” for me–and there was a little joke on me when I discovered a big jump in the story and about thirty pages missing from my new paperback. A goof-up at the printers. I’m pretty sure I pieced together whatever was missing, though.

Overall, I think the realness in this novel should appeal to many Christian Fiction readers.

 

One thought on “The Hearts We Mend by Kathryn Springer

  1. Pingback: Favorite Covers 2016 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

