Rise and Shine by Sandra D. Bricker

romance-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody Publishers for an honest review.

Four Silver Stars

Rise and ShineRise and Shine by Sandra D. Bricker

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

As much as she loved it, she suddenly knew that going back to that world wasn’t helpful right now. She needed to find her own true self, as she was now. Shannon Ridgeway, coma survivor, widow…and what else?

Book blurbs aren’t really my thing, but even with the blurb I did skim over before reading this novel (it wasn’t the blurb on the book’s back cover, which I saw later has some erroneous info), I guess I wasn’t thoroughly prepared for what I was in for.

Despite the absolutely delightful cover design that had me anticipating a good deal of humor, I wouldn’t call author Sandra D. Bricker’s contemporary fairy tale, Rise and Shine, an out-and-out comedy. Don’t get me wrong, it’s got its quirky and humorous moments, but it’s not the most jokey-jokey read. I mean, a major honeymoon accident and waking up after a ten-year coma to learn that your husband died of cancer is no laughing matter.

Still, I didn’t need to be dissolving into frequent giggles to find this story satisfying. Besides my sharing Shannon Ridgeway’s classic television and literature tastes, and apart from the fact that she cries an (understandably) awful lot, I rooted for her all along her unlikely journey. She earned every ounce of my respect during the climax–oh!–and Shannon and that dog. Too adorable, those two who happen to be depicted on the absolutely delightful cover.

Other fans of ChristFic chick-lit, romance, and contemporary fiction should enjoy this.

 

One thought on “Rise and Shine by Sandra D. Bricker

  1. Pingback: Favorite Covers 2016 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

