Where the Light May Lead (A Novelette Collection)

fiction-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
_______________________

Four Silver Stars

Where the Light May LeadWhere The Light May Lead

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Well! As a multi-genre ChristFic anthology of novelettes, Where the Light May Lead was indeed a new experience for me, chiefly because I’d never read any of these authors before.

That’s How She Rolls, a rom-com by C.L. Wells, features a humorous heroine who’s self-conscious but also self-aware. Beauty and hotness come in all different sizes, ladies! Leopard’s Find by Kimberly A. Rogers was my first taste of urban fantasy, initially a little tricky for me to follow, but it became endearing pretty quick.

I’ve watched a lot more sci-fi than I’ve ever read, but either way, I’m rather sure Circular Horizon by Bokerah Brumley is the first I’ve encountered with blatant God-consciousness up in space, fitting for a God of the universe. ‘Tis So Sweet by Faith Blum is historical fiction simply told, rushed in spots but big on sweetness and the need for faith–no coincidence there! And stepping into The Quinn Case by Julie C. Gilbert was much like sampling a crime drama on primetime television, which I like to do on occasion.

I usually find a favorite in a collection, and Upsie-Daisy by Jane Lebak is strikingly clever and hilarious, imaginative and real at the same time. Lee and her guardian angel, Bucky, are quite the entertaining duo, unique but relatable, and this glimpse into Lee’s work and romance-related experiences certainly whet my appetite to read more about her.

Whether it’d be a new genre venture (like it mostly was for me) or not, Christian Fiction readers of all tastes should enjoy giving this collection a try.

One thought on “Where the Light May Lead (A Novelette Collection)

  1. Pingback: Honest and for True by Jane Lebak | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

