The Someday List by Stacy Hawkins Adams

fiction-books-6

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
_______________________

Four Silver Stars

The Someday ListThe Someday List by Stacy Hawkins Adams

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Apart from her heart surgeon husband, two young children she loves, and her rather privileged lifestyle, Rachelle Covington isn’t exactly sure who she is or what she truly wants for herself. Her journey to figuring it out, and dealing with her past, begins in The Someday List by author Stacy Hawkins Adams.

I can tell how much I’m enjoying a novel when, at some point or another, I hear myself as I read: hear myself laughing, hear myself gasping, hear myself talking back to a character who needs to catch a clue. In this case, a number of points during the reading were punctuated with an audible “Mm” from me as Rachelle’s situation incited my interest, my reasoning, my emotions. The story deals with some hard, real, messy issues without being “messy” about it but also without sugarcoating it all for faith’s sake—the strong faith theme notwithstanding.

Now, while I could feel for Rachelle and a good handful of the other characters, there was one key character who didn’t quite have me convinced. When an antagonist is headed for a change down the road, that character is most intriguing when he or she doesn’t seem “bad” just for the sake of it, when there’s a little deeper dimension to who the character really is and why. This story’s “villain” didn’t intrigue me that way, so his portion of the plot eventually fell a bit flat to me.

Still, this novel kept me invested from the first page to the last, and I deem it a worthwhile pick for other fans of contemporary Christian Fiction.

________________

The Someday List is first in the Jubilant Soul series.

Worth a Thousand Words (Jubilant Soul #2) Dreams That Won't Let Go (Jubilant Soul #3)

Share Your Thoughts

