A Lady in Defiance by Heather Blanton

romance-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
________________________

Four Silver Stars

A Lady in DefianceA Lady in Defiance by Heather Blanton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

And then come three “holy-rolling” sisters to settle in Defiance, the mining town Charles McIntyre runs—mostly on brothels and booze. But it’s the hot-tempered, gritty, widowed middle sister, Naomi Miller, who may give McIntyre a run for his piles of money in A Lady in Defiance by author Heather Blanton.

I wound up getting a tad more emotionally involved in this western tale than I expected I would, feeling my own triumphant “There ya’ go! Tell ’em!” over here and an almost heart-torn “Aw…gee” over there.

I most empathized with Naomi, as she isn’t the more predictable feisty heroine, who’d be unbridled and brashly unapologetic. No, even with all of her fire, Naomi is battling to become a more compassionate person. Besides Naomi and McIntyre, a number of characters take the spotlight at different times, and none of their storylines seem like just an “extra” subplot.

I’ll admit I never came to fully trust one male character, after seeing his level of violence toward a woman. And the novel’s chief villain didn’t completely pull me in, as it takes a different layer, besides his or her vileness, to make a villain truly intriguing to me.

Still, this is a substantive novel where heart, spirit, and deep faith permeate untamed territory, something fans of historical and western ChristFic can thoroughly enjoy.

____________
Note for my blog readers: not out of keeping with the subject matter, this novel contains some violent and sensual material for mature audiences.

_____________

A Lady in Defiance is Book One in the Romance in the Rockies series.

Hearts in Defiance (Romance in the Rockies #2)  A Promise in Defiance (Romance in the Rockies #3)

4 thoughts on “A Lady in Defiance by Heather Blanton

  1. Nadine, that was a really well-written review! Thank you. I also appreciated your criticisms. I get the most comments about the villaness, how hated she is, yet she didn’t pull you in. I like that you go against the flow. You’re a deep-thinker. In my new book, a madam is based on a real historical figure, a Mary Hastings. Thoroughly foul human being. Maybe shel’ll grab ya a little more. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

