Evergreen by Susan May Warren

christmas-books-4

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a complimentary copy of this book, for which I’ve given an honest review, through a rewards program from the publisher. I received no monetary compensation.

Five Gold Stars

EvergreenEvergreen by Susan May Warren

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

I wasn’t sure how I’d fare, jumping into what is, technically, the fifth book in a series from which I’ve read no other books, but no concern was necessary. In Evergreen by author Susan May Warren, John Christiansen is facing an empty-nest holiday season with excitement, while his wife, Ingrid, is a different story altogether.

Yes, I like boy-meets-girl, new-relationship kind of reads, but it’s also refreshing reading about couples who’ve been married for a while, who are still navigating the ins and outs of living an ever-unfolding life together. I had the pleasure of stepping into what felt like the middle of a family saga, without getting lost. The author doesn’t labor over stretches of backstory that aren’t pertinent to the present plot, but she deftly hits on the right key points from the past to make it all complete.

And this isn’t just a light and fluffy helping of Christmas Corny. I mean, Christmas Corny does have a place with me, in its place, but this tale isn’t corny or shallow. There’s depth here, a distinct understanding of the human experience, and the age-old Christmas story is woven into this Christmas story in a way that’s real, relatable, and not just confined to a baby in a manger.

For those who are familiar with the Christiansen Family series and those who are not, I highly recommend this warm, poignant, wise, and uplifting holiday novella.

______________

The Christiansen Family Series

 

One thought on “Evergreen by Susan May Warren

  1. Pingback: Christmas Book Picks 2016 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

