I Am Delilah by Josi S. Kilpack

fiction-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Ebooks For Review for an honest review.
____________________

Five Gold Stars

I Am DelilahI Am Delilah by Josi S. Kilpack

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Famous movie actor Sam Hendricks is all about showing love to his adoring fans by annually choosing one lucky, everyday woman to be his date to the Oscars. But in I Am Delilah by author Josi S. Kilpack, Delilah Glenshaw gives Sam his first taste of what it’s like for an everyday woman to tell him, “No.”

I was prepared for this novel to shape up into a nice rom-com. And, hey, I certainly dig nice rom-coms. But even with its delightful helpings of comedy, a rom-com this book is not. I found its differences to be rather wonderful, and I wound up getting more engaged in the story than I thought I would. Even with her flaws, which annoyed me at times, Delilah is a pretty remarkable heroine who, when push comes to shove, knows how to stick to her guns.

Now, despite the book’s title, this is as much Sam’s story as it is Delilah’s, and at times, I felt like it was more his than hers. But Sam, as a character, didn’t have me fully convinced, as he didn’t give me an impression of the intangible but commanding star power that some icons and artists really do possess. Hence, his obvious and frequent insistence, both inward and outward, about his own superiority made him come off as more of a caricature of a star than an actual one. Also, the novel’s Epilogue bordered on being a little too picture-perfect to me.

Nevertheless, this refreshing non-rom-com had me too entertained from beginning to end for me not to give it five stars, and I’d recommend it to anyone looking for a fun, wholesome read with an empowering message.

Share Your Thoughts

