Crashing Into Love by Yvonne Lehman

christmas-books-2

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
_______________________

Four Silver Stars

Crashing Into LoveCrashing Into Love – Where Personal Tragedies, Faith, & Love Collide by Yvonne Lehman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Three people in separate dilemmas are heading toward three different kinds of Christmases when a car crash brings them all oddly together in Crashing Into Love by author Yvonne Lehman.

I just have to say, as charmed as I am, in a general way, by this book’s cover, I don’t get it. I mean, I’ve seen that this book was originally titled Crashing Into Christmas, but as the title’s been changed to something that doesn’t center on the holiday, I imagine the book’s cover is following suit. And there are a couple of minor mentions of makeup in the story, so…perhaps the idea of the makeup image is to catch more readers’ attention outside of the holiday season. But, still, the story is so wonderfully, thoroughly Christmas themed, and knowing I’m not the only person who reads Christmas books year round, I don’t think the cover really does this holiday story justice.

Anyhow. Enough about that.

This short, sweet, and poignant intertwining of three storylines brings tough issues to light. Not a harsh, glaring light but an empathetic, and even warm, one. There are some pretty outstanding points about finding the truth of a family legacy, about what can happen when you don’t focus on your fears, about choosing to change your perspective of others, about choosing to hope.

I wasn’t sure about all of the transitions, if some were quick and clever or merely too abrupt, and, concerning a character I didn’t get to know up close at all, I wasn’t certain whether I was supposed to accept that a key, public declaration of his was sincere or not.

Even so, many other readers should enjoy a tale of faith and love like this at Christmastime–or if they’re like me, at any time.

Share Your Thoughts

