Forsaking All Others by Kari Trumbo

historical-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
_______________________

Forsaking All OthersForsaking All Others by Kari Trumbo

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Fleeing from her abusive father at a Sioux reservation in Nebraska, Ojinjintka escapes with the man who loves her, Matoskah. With plans to go live in a very different world in Kansas, they’ll go by the names Rose and Pete. But it will take more than a change of names for them to tackle what’s ahead–and to tackle it together–in Forsaking All Others by author Kari Trumbo.

I often mention that I’m not too big on book blurbs. I usually forget them fast, when I do read them at all. But book covers tend to make more of an impression on me, and the warm tones and regal and radiant quality of this cover let me know that I’d be reading this book. It’s a rather simple and sweet piece of historical fiction, but there are serious aspects here, and some of Rose’s story in particular pricked me somewhere pretty deep.

Even so, I’m not sure that I got the most definite feel for Rose’s character, or for Pete’s, until maybe a little late in the book. The development of the story felt more to me like the middle of a series than an opening, as if I was supposed to be more familiar with the characters and their situation than I was. Also, I may be the victim of slightly stereotypical thinking, but it didn’t seem like the style of Rose’s and Pete’s speech quite matched their characters and their place in this setting.

Still, my enjoyment of the book increased the further I got into it, and I think a lot of other historical ChristFic readers should enjoy this, too.

_______________

Forsaking All Others is Book One in the Western Vows series.

To Honor and Cherish For Richer or Poorer To Love and Comfort

Share Your Thoughts

